Hsu Che-Yu, Gray Room, 2022
Aug 26 – Dec 3, 2023
Inside-Out Art Museum
Beijing, China

Beijing Inside-Out Art Museum is delighted to open a new exhibition Meaning. Meaning has been inspired by our recent experience. In the past three years, travel almost came to a complete stop. The network of art that emerged in the happy era of globalization has been put to test by physical and ideological barriers, yet it still maintains good faith and conveys news from other parts of art world to us. Through such connections, we had the opportunity to stay informed with artists around the world, many of whom worked in video art.

We conducted a comprehensive survey of artists recommended by curators active in various parts of East Asia, browsing almost all video works by artists that have emerged in East Asia, Southeast Asia, and South America in the past five years. Finally, we selected fifteen of these works by fourteen artists and art group, spanning over a decade from 2012 to the present. Their perspectives, techniques, and awareness might be different, but they all demonstrate sincerity and courage to confront with realities and care for human souls. These are works of genuine effort that can withstand the test of time.

During the three years of Covid-19, we not only suffered from the fear of disease, but also frequently experienced emotional shocks, mental fatigue and confusion. How should we understand the world that seems to have suddenly fallen into strife, division, hatred, and estrangement? Our past experience of living in an era of harmonious globalization does not prove sufficient for us to face chaos today. In this context, conspiracy theory takes over the energy of critical theory. However, the initial passion of searching for an alternative truth gradually reduced itself to a fervor for revealing and criticizing conspiracies, turning into a phenomenon of entertainment and consumption.

[ . . . ]

Participating artists: Korakrit Arunanondchai, Jungju An, Adrián Balseca, Musquiqui Chihying, Ekin Kee Charles, Hsu Che-Yu, Rokni Haerizadeh, Shuruq Harb, Ramin Haerizadeh, Sojung Jun, Jung Yoonsuk, Timoteus Anggawan Kusno, Gabriel Mascaro, Erkan Özgen, Hesam Rahmanian, Maya Watanabe